Mother and Baby

RESPPA study - Resilience and perinatal stress in times of pandemic

Pregnant women and their families experience many types of feelings upon the arrival of a newborn. In the context of COVID-19, each woman's response to family and social events is unique. Studies have shown that good maternal and child health during the perinatal period reduces the risk of health problems for the child. Therefore, it is important to document and better understand the psychosocial impact of the pandemic on pregnant women in order to identify factors of well-being, stress or anxiety, and resilience.

The RESPPA study seeks to better understand the association between various factors related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the psychological health of pregnant women, the course of pregnancy, and the development of the child. These factors include, for example, well-being, social distancing measures, stress, resilience, heredity, nutrition, physical activity, family situation, and so on.

 

RESPPA is a longitudinal study. In other words, we will follow our participants and their families at different points in time, conducted in different regions of Quebec, which relies on a strong intersectoral and interregional collaboration.

Conduct of the study and participation

 

Between June 2020 and March 2022, we will recruit pregnant women aged 18 or over, living in Quebec and able to complete online questionnaires.

Participants and their life partners will then be invited to complete a series of online questionnaires. One in each trimester of pregnancy, then in the postnatal period at 3, 12, 18 and 24 months. Finally, we will ask permission from the participants to examine their medical records in order to relate certain factors such as heredity and their physical condition.

Partner sites:

  • Sainte-Justine University Hospital Center

  • Quebec University Hospital Center

  • Sherbrooke University Hospital Center

  • CIUSSS Nord-de-l'île-de-Montréal

  • CIUSSS Mauricie-et-du-Center-du-Québec

  • CISSS l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue.

  • CISSS Bas-Saint-Laurent

Participation is not exclusive to its sites.

Image by freestocks

Would you like to participate in our study?

CRITERIA

  • Be 18 years of age or older

  • Being pregnant or have given birth less than 3 months ago

  • Being able to complete online questionnaires (in English or French)

  • Living in Quebec

WHAT DOES MY PARTICIPATION INVOLVE?

  • Completion of a series of online questionnaires during and after pregnancy.

  • Participation in a reference database for research on pregnancy and early childhood during a pandemic.

  • The information collected during this study will remain strictly confidential and the identity of participants will be protected.

Image by Jonathan Borba

Mother and Baby

Étude RESPPA – Résilience et stress périnatal en temps de pandémie

Les femmes enceintes et leur famille expérimentent plusieurs types de sentiments à l’arrivée d’un nouveau-né. Dans le contexte de la COVID-19 la réponse de chaque femme aux événements familiaux et sociaux est unique. Les études ont démontré qu’une bonne santé de la mère et de l’enfant pendant la période périnatale réduit le risque de problèmes de santé pour l’enfant. Il est donc important de documenter et de mieux comprendre l’impact psychosocial de la pandémie sur les femmes enceintes afin de déterminer les facteurs de bien-être, de stress ou d’anxiété et de résilience.

C'est pourquoi l'étude RESPPA cherche à mieux comprendre l’association entre les différents facteurs liée à la pandémie de la COVID-19, la santé psychologique des femmes enceintes, le déroulement de la grossesse et le développement de l’enfant. Ces facteurs sont, par exemple : le bien-être, les mesures de distanciation sociale, le stress, la résilience, l’hérédité, l’alimentation, l’activité physique, la situation familiale, etc.

RESPPA est une étude longitudinale, c’est-à-dire que nous suivrons nos participantes et leurs familles à différent moment dans le temps, réalisée dans différentes régions du Québec qui s'appuie sur une solide collaboration intersectorielle et interrégionale.

Déroulement de l’étude et participation

 

Nous recrutons des femmes enceintes de 18 ans ou plus, habitant au Québec et en mesure de remplir des questionnaires français ou anglais en ligne.

Les participantes et leurs partenaires de vie seront invitées à remplir une série de questionnaires en ligne. Un à chaque trimestre de la grossesse, puis en période postnatale à 3, 12, 18 et 24 mois. Finalement, nous demanderons la permission aux participantes afin d’examiner leurs dossiers médicaux afin de liés certains facteurs de santé aux résultats des questionnaires.

Sites partenaires :

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Sainte-Justine

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Québec

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke

  • CIUSSS du Nord-de-l'île-de Montréal

  • CIUSS de la Mauricie-et-du-Centre-du-Québec

  • CISSS de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue.

  • CISSS du Bas-Saint-Laurent

La participation n'est pas exclusive à ses sites.

Image by freestocks

Vous désirez participer à notre l'étude?

Critères

  • Avoir plus de 18 ans

  • Être enceinte ou avoir accouché depuis moins de trois mois

  • Être apte à compléter des questionnaires en ligne (en français ou en anglais

  • Habiter au Québec

Qu'est-ce que ma participation implique?

  • La réalisation d'une série de questionnaires en ligne pendant et après la grossesse.

  • La participation à une banque de données de référence pour la recherche sur la grossesse et la petite enfance en période de pandémie.

  • Les informations recueillies lors de cette étude resteront strictement confidentielles et l'identité des participant-e-s sera protégée.

Image by Jonathan Borba